I didn’t go to the big game because I’m a loser, but I made up for it by going to a musical by myself.

Last weekend I went to see a production of Les Mis at this theatre downtown. It was really excellent. I haven’t seen a live production of Les Mis since middle school, and I had been in the way back and could barely discern between characters. (I kept mixing up Valjean and Javert, but in my defense, they both looked exactly the same and I’m still not convinced it wasn’t the same person somehow playing two characters simultaneously. Or twins.)

Anyway, I was sitting up towards the front near a bunch of old people whose grandchildren or nieces or nephews were in the musical. The old people, however, had not actually seen Les Mis before, so I caught tidbits like this: “My niece is playing Fantine. I think she gets pregnant and dies.”

I reiterated this to my friend during intermission, and she said, “Well, she’s not entirely wrong.”

Leave a Reply

