Snow Days in April

I’m bitching about weather again, but not MY weather. That’s the important thing. It’s raining, and I am content sitting in my room and eating chocolate. No problems there.

But my hometown had a snow day today. A snow day. In April. There was too much snow for them to get an education. And this is even taking into account the fact that they’ve already had EIGHT snow days. EIGHT. So it wasn’t like the Snow Day Committee got together, shrugged, and said, “Well, we have some snow days to spare. Let’s throw ’em a bone.” No. We are generally allowed three or four snow days every year. They have now had nine. They are going to be in school until July. No, at this rate they aren’t even going to HAVE a summer break. This school year will transition seamlessly into the next.

The only reason this pisses me off is because I’m petty. When I was in high school, we did not get nine snow days. We got, like, one or two snow days, plus some questionable calls during which the superintendent did not call a snow day and people nearly died braving the blizzard on their way to school, and then all the parents complained on the school’s Facebook page.

3 thoughts on “Snow Days in April

  1. As I read this I thought this line “The only reason this pisses me off is because I’m petty” said “The only reason this pisses me off is because I’m PRETTY.” I was so confused.

Leave a Reply

