This is what happens when we do things

Today I was going to see Oz the Great and Powerful with Tara, but the showing we would have gone to was in 3D. We made an executive decision, which was basically just us muttering mutinously “I would rather eat nails than watch a 3D movie” like really old senior citizens, and decided to see the next available 2D showing instead. This gave us two hours to kill. We did my grocery shopping, and then went to the bookstore.

“I don’t actually want to buy anything, though,” said Tara, “because I have like twenty unread books at home.”

“Same,” I said. “Let’s find copies of the books we’re reading right now and go read them in the cafe ’til the movie starts.”

Tara is currently reading The Great Gatsby, and I’m reading Les Misérables. My problem was that I couldn’t find the right translation, so I had to make do with what I could find, which was the Norman Denny version. Anyway, we settled in for the long haul and got to reading. What wound up happening, however, was we got so engrossed in our novels that we arrived at the movie ten minutes before it started, and it was sold out. As we walked back out into the parking lot, Tara said matter-of-factly, “This is probably our biggest fail since that time we tried to do our community service in high school, wandered around for two hours looking for the booth, couldn’t find it, and went home. But this is even worse, because we actually wanted to see Oz.”

That pretty much sums it up. I feel this is representative not just of half the things we try to do but also our lives.

Leave a Reply

