I’m working with kids again. [PANIC ENSUES]

I’m HOME. And tonight I’m working at an elementary school carnival with Allison and Tara. My dear brother will be manning the juice stand in the cafeteria. Once my shift is over, I’m going to do the Cake Walk as many times as it takes to get me some freaking No-Bake Cookies. I  mentioned this in an article once, I think, but Alex has an uncanny knack for winning at the Cake Walk, and then proceeding to select the most shit cakes. But I mean, it’s been a few years. Maybe his tastes have evolved. I have a knack for not winning ever, and then watching parades of nine-year-old children snatch the cakes I’ve had my eye on. It’s kind of a tradition at this point.

I’ll reiterate for anyone who’s new to Elodie World: I’m bad with kids. Kids are my Achilles’ heel. I’ve been known to frighten them without even meaning to, which puts a lot of things in perspective, because I can really scare a kid when I’m actually meaning to. (I once told a ghost story while babysitting that traumatized.) Right now I have “Do You Hear the People Sing?” stuck in my head, which I can tell already is going to be a problem. Particularly the line “the blood of the martyrs will water the meadows of France.”

Wish me luck. I’m going to get myself a cake this year if I have to hide it under my shirt and bolt for the parking lot.

2 thoughts on “I’m working with kids again. [PANIC ENSUES]

  1. Oh wow Elodie! The first thing I ever read that you penned was your story on sparknotes when you were manning the lollipop tree, and you ended up mauling the school mascot… And here you are again, cakewalk and all.

    This feels like a significant moment… like an anniversary or something.

Leave a Reply

