Shrugging takes a lot less energy and commitment. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I was walking across campus yesterday when I came upon a group of people giving away free hugs in the courtyard. Great, I thought. We’ve had our problems in the past. I’m not a hugger. I hardly ever hug the people I like and hang out with, much less total strangers with posters. Usually I trail behind a another group and let them do the rejecting. But this time, I was alone. And they called me out. The guy said, “I bet the girl in the turquoise shirt wants a hug!” And I looked down at my shirt and thought, Oh shit, that’s me.

“No, thank you,” I said, smiling nervously, and they all laughed.

But there was also an enemy faction of people on the other side of the courtyard giving away free shrugs. Wordlessly, the dude shrugged at me. I shrugged back. And all the free huggers behind me went “NOOOOOOOOOOO!”

I think I may have inadvertently joined the dark side.

One thought on “Shrugging takes a lot less energy and commitment. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Leave a Reply

