My Essay was a Monumental Failure

I have a meeting with my professor in twenty minutes. I’m so, so nervous. I haven’t been able to do a single productive thing all day, because I keep glancing at the clock and thinking, “Holy MOTHER of GOD, SEVEN HOURS UNTIL I MEET WITH HIM, WHAT ON EARTH AM I GOING TO DO?”

He’s intimidating. That’s all there is to it. I got my essay back a few days ago, and he hated it with a fervent passion. He took his red pen and destroyed it, slashing his way through every last paragraph. He wrote “unclear” and “vague” so many times I think they lost their meaning. Somewhere in there he just put, “You no longer seem to understand the prompt,” then he apparently gave up on the last two pages and didn’t write anything but a desperately unhappy question mark. Finally, at the end, he simply wrote, “This was NOT your best effort of the term.” Not underlined twice. Which is unfortunate, because (and this is so demoralizing to admit) I actually worked really hard on this paper. Like really, REALLY hard. I worked harder on this paper than I did the last one, at any rate, and on that one he wrote, “This has real potential.”

I can’t read your mind, dude! WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME?

On the plus side… TOMORROW IS DECEMBER.

3 thoughts on “My Essay was a Monumental Failure

  1. English professors ALWAYS love their job the most when they get to destroy students hard work and efforts. At least that’s what I think, but what do I know. I also recently got an F on a paper in english. That paper was 210 points. I got a 105. That brought my A down to a D. I have never had below a B in english in my life. Needless to say, I am also freaking out!

    • This freaking out CANNOT be good for us! You know what, dude? I’m sure your paper was awesome. Your professor was probably just blinded by the brilliance. Give him time.

  2. Ugh, that just happened to me, except not in English. For me, it was Art. I walked in with a 2×3 foot painting I had worked on for more that 12 hours and was pretty proud of (and a lot of people complimented). The teacher was all “you should know how to paint well by now”. He gave me a C and that totally lowered my grade.

Leave a Reply

