Confession: I’m a huge wimp

I have this crippling fear of needles, shots in particular. I once went through this phase in middle school where I actually redirected pointy objects that were facing me (a pencil on the desk, a knife at the dinner table… I know, I know. In my defense, this was a brief phase). I mean, sure, nobody LIKES shots (actually, I do know someone that embraces shots simply because everyone else is scared of them) and I don’t know about anybody else, but for me, getting a shot is always this hugely traumatic affair. The last time I got one, I completely freaked out. But I tried to keep in mind that I was seventeen and almost a legal adult, so as the nurse was leaving (after IMPALING me) I was practically sobbing, “Th-th-thank you,” with the result that I came across less of a mature adult and more of an overly emotional (but polite) toddler.

I have to get a few shots this week before I set off for college. Hoo boy. I won’t even get into the time they missed the vein (I can’t even tell this story without gagging) and had to… move the needle around… gah, never mind. Not getting into it. Oh, God. Here come the flashbacks. Assuming I survive THAT procedure, next I have to get a filling. My first filling. EVER. I don’t know… is this a milestone most people have hit by age eighteen? For all my anxiety over shots, it’s been a long time since I’ve been scared of the dentist. Orthodontia desensitized me. My mouth was a mess when I was a child. Teeth were growing in sideways. The orthodontist had to get very creative, and over the last decade we’ve assumed a casual buddy-buddy relationship.

Anyway, I’ll admit it: I’m a wimp. I’ve owned up to my utter wimpiness and hope that’ll be enough to spare me.

8 thoughts on “Confession: I’m a huge wimp

  1. i have the same crippling fear. last time i got a shot my face went pale, everything went black and fuzzy, and i felt so weak i couldnt move. it was the scariest experience of my life.

    i also hate the dentist. WHY DO WE EVEN HAVE WISDOM TEETH IF THEY JUST GROW TO THE POINT OF WRAPPING AROUND YOUR NERVES ALONG YOUR JAW AND DESTROYS ALL FEELING IN YOUR CHIN AND LIP!!?!?!? sorry… its true! and then you get them taken out and you can’t eat food. its the worst thing.

    on a brighter note: good luck in college!!

    • Right?! Wisdom teeth are useless. They’re the appendix of the mouth. I feel like my whole life I’ve lived in fear of having them taken out, and that graphic description did not help. XD I’ll be totally honest… that was brand-new information to me. I knew they had to come out, I just didn’t know why, and now I do… in vivid detail.

      Also: thank you! 🙂

  2. this is completely unrelated, but i just read ur sparklife post and it totally broke my heart

    Liam’s: “I love you. I’m going to pick up a British accent while I’m in Europe, and then when I say ‘I love you’ it’ll sound so much cooler.”

    liam is such a cutie. is he going to uni in europe or just travelling? and if he is going to uni there, which one?

    • This might surprise you, since I’ve never mentioned this, but Liam is a dancer. And he was offered a spot on Broadway. 🙂

  3. oh my goodness! that is incredibly cool!
    what kind of dance does he do?
    tell him congratulations for me. he must be incredibly talented!
    i just had like a mini freak out session and ran around telling everyone. that is how impressed i am, haha.

Leave a Reply

