People suck sometimes

I got lost driving my brother to football practice, and I wound up driving the wrong way on a one-way street. I (mistakenly) had my window down, so one person after another shouted at me, “You’re going the wrong way!”

“Yes, I know, I’m trying to turn around,” I called to the first person. “Thank you.”

“You’re going the wrong way!” said the next one.

“Yeah!” I yelled. “I know! Thanks!”

“Has anyone TOLD you that you’re GOING the wrong WAY?” this lady yelled at me, gesticulating wildly out her window.

“YES, THEY HAVE!” I shouted.

“What the hell is wrong with you?” the next woman bellowed. “YOU’RE GOING THE WRONG WAY!”

Finally I lost it and shouted back, “SCREW YOU TOO!” but my brother was already leaning across to roll up the window, so I’m sure that lady just caught a jumbled stream of angry, poorly-vocalized emotion coming at her. Eventually I found a driveway to pull into and I just muttered to my brother, “I hate people,” to which he said simply, “They suck sometimes.”

Uggghhhh.

4 thoughts on “People suck sometimes

  1. oh my gosh. It is seriously a MIRACLE that I haven’t been killed yet driving. Not that I’m particularly awful at driving, but I make some bad decisions. I have some horrible experiences like yours, but I just pushed them back from memory. I’m loving your blog!

    • Thank you! And yes, I TOTALLY hear you! I’m not, like, a menace to driving society, but I’ll do something completely idiotic now and again.

  2. Oh, I am SO not looking forward to experiences like that XD Cuz I know I will have them in abundance (if I ever get my license at all, that is. I drove home from lunch today and shot right through two stop signs, as well as nearly running a red light. I think my mind was somewhere else entirely. My dad was not pleased.)

    • Fathers always assume that “where did I go wrong with this one” attitude when it comes to teaching their kid how to drive. But, PSH. Screw the rules of traffic, right? Those stop signs are oppressive.

Leave a Reply

