When Girls’ Night and Boys’ Night Collide

Last night was girls’ night. Generally we like to convene at Holly’s house and watch 80’s movies (but sometimes we eschew that rule for 10 Things I Hate About You or She’s All That) in our oh-so attractive sweatpants while painting our nails. That’s why, at this very moment, my nails have an alternating color scheme of sparkly, sparkly dark blue (which I call Mistress of the Night) and glow-in-the-dark green. It’s the most appalling color scheme the world has ever seen, but I’m rocking it.

Anyway, Holly had choir practice during the transition between 10 Things I Hate About You and Sixteen Candles, so the rest of us decided to just drive around town. We went to the gas station so Claire could get gas (I bought my dinner there: microwave soup and a king-sized Crunch bar) and we saw Liam and his friends pull in. Might I just add that Liam’s friends are sa-mokin’. We all conversed, and Liam mentioned that he and the guys were going to Applebee’s. We all had some laughs (and a battle to see who could honk the longest) and we went our separate ways.

We went to Taco Bell, where I somehow managed to win a free pack of Cinnamon Twists, and then Claire said randomly, “I’ve got some window markers in the trunk. We could go to Applebee’s and write on Liam’s car!” We all stared at each other for a second, just basking in the glory of this wonderful idea, and then we bolted for the door and burned rubber turning out of the Taco Bell parking lot. We went on to write all manner of degrading things on his car. We then scrambled back into Claire’s car and almost took out a shopping cart as she booked it out of there.

Ah, girls’ night.

3 thoughts on “When Girls’ Night and Boys’ Night Collide

  1. Yay, you’re back! After two weeks I was beginning to wonder at the absence of Elodie posts. I guess you’ve probably been pretty busy; it seems when it comes to school, April is one of the tougher months. Anyway, I got a good laugh out of reading about your latest shenanigans and I hope to see more stories soon.

    P.S. I hope you were still writing in some outlet over the past two weeks; I would think that going without your “writing fix” that long would put you in danger of spontaneous combustion. =P

    • He called to ask if we did it. We lied, and he lied and said he believed us, and that’s what friendship is all about. 😀

Leave a Reply

