NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo and I have a love-hate relationship. I haven’t won in two years. My mom warned me not to try and juggle a 50,000-word novel and my AP classes, but I laughed in her face. Tons of teenagers have heaps of homework and still manage it. Right? Right. Plus, I had the best story ever. I had great ideas, awesome characters and a perfect plot twist. I was so in love with my plot that I was contemplating a marriage proposal. And so I laughed at my mother.

Fast forward twenty-nine days. I’m a hot mess. I throw things at innocent passersby and break the necks of those who interrupt me. I snarl. I weep. I consume mass quantities of caffeine. And still I fail.

This year is eerily similar to last. AP classes–check. Motherly advice–check. Excitement and confidence that may end in a downward spiral of misery and depression–check.

November, here I come.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I seriously cannot get over how alike we are. Except for, well, the fact you’re, like, 3 years older than me… Goodness, Elodie your blogs literally complete my life 🙂 You have no idea who I am and, technically, I don’t know you either but nevertheless if we ever met in real life, I am 134.5% positive that we would be best friends. As in, like, forever. We have the same sense of humour, are both socially awkward, are incapable of maintaining a sane conversation with a crush… Until I read your post “Life Without A Sense of Smell” (or a title of similar wording) I thought I was the ONLY ONE! Asmonia, you say? I thought I was just some freak of nature who was able to withstand the stench of science pracs involving sulphur and and was immune to the (apparently) wonderfully alluring smell of men’s cologne. I’m also aspiring to write a book… Started, really. It’s got its fair share of twists and gravitational plot holes but all negativity pushed aside I think I’m on the right track. A marriage proposal to my story did come to my mind as well, funnily enough.
    “I throw things at innocent passersby and break the necks of those who interrupt me. I snarl. I weep. I consume mass quantities of caffeine. And still I fail.” – the only thing that doesn’t fit me there is that I don’t like coffee.

    You have an incredible, worthy-of-sinful-coveting style of writing, Elodie! Thank-you for all the past, present and guareteed future fits of hysterics you throw me in to 🙂 Good luck with your writing!

Leave a Reply

