This class will be the death of me

Why “the twixter”? From Dictionary.com:

Main Entry: twixter
Part of Speech: noun
Definition: a person stuck between childhood and the adult world, often living with parents
Example: Ah, the life of a twixter!

That, and when you say it out loud it sounds like Elmer Fudd saying “trickster.” So. Yes. Now we can move past the complexities of my username choice. (Dig deep, people. Dig deep.)

I was sitting here, wishing I had some alternative means of procrastination (I’d already beaten my high score on Minesweeper, organized my sock drawer, stared into the depths of my open fridge for a solid two minutes, and wandered aimlessly around the house — yeah, I can procrastinate like a champion) when it hit me. A blog. A wonderful project that was sure to devour hours of my time. Okay, maybe not hours. I’ve been at this for all of twelve minutes. Still, it’s better than Lang. Having reeds jammed underneath your fingernails is better than Lang, but you know what I mean.

The problem here is that everyone’s Facebook statuses have changed to some variation of “well, better start that Lang homework.” Seriously. I just counted six people. I have this sudden mental image of everyone sitting in a circle at some kind of rave/study party, getting their Lang work done in style, eating pizza and balancing fizzy drinks on their textbooks, snickering and saying, “Let’s all change our statuses and make everyone else feel totally inadequate! Thank God we didn’t invite Elodie. She’s probably procrastinating like a beast, thinking those annotations are just going to write themselves.” And here I am, alternately blogging and playing Super Smash Bros, and I’m like, “Up B… up B… up B… LAND MINE!… crap!” So, um, yeah. Maybe I should get started.

Leave a Reply

